The Western Australian Certificate of Education (WACE) is a program designed by School Curriculum and Standards Authority (SCSA) to cater for students who aim to continue their tertiary studies may it be university or via other venues.

The requirements for WACE, briefly, are as follows:

  • Completion of a minimum of 20 units across Year 11 and 12
  • Completion of at least 4 units in English across Year 11 and 12
  • Achieving at least 14 C grades (a mark of above 50) across Year 11 and 12, with a minimum of 6 C grades in Year 12.

Fountain College is proud of its curriculum and WACE program it offers to its students. Fountain College offers a broad spectrum of subjects to its students. The subjects offered to Year 11 and 12 subjects in 2016 are as follows:

Year 11 Year 12
English Unit 1 & 2 English Unit 3 & 4
Mathematics Applications Unit 1 & 2 Mathematics Applications Unit 3 & 4
Mathematics Methods Unit 1 & 2 Mathematics Methods Unit 3 & 4
Biology Unit 1 & 2 Biology Unit 3 & 4
Chemistry Unit 1 & 2 Chemistry Unit 3 & 4
Physics Unit 1 & 2 Physics Unit 3 & 4
Business Management and Enterprise Unit 1 & 2 Business Management and Enterprise Unit 3 & 4
Applied Information and Technology Unit 1 & 2 Applied Information and Technology Unit 3 & 4


Fountain College has a dedicated staff willing to help our Year 11 and 12 students in their spare time. Thanks to our staff, Fountain College is able to offer extra support classes for our Year 11 and 12 students on Saturday. During these classes, students either grasp course content that they previously did not fully comprehend or accelerate their learning.

New accelerated learning program

For the first time in 2016, Fountain College is offering an accelerated learning program for our Year 11 students. The program is constructed such that any Year 11 student has an opportunity to finish 2 Year 12 units in Year 11. This offers a huge advantage for students in Year 12 as it gives them more preparation and study time for their other subjects.

The subjects on offer for our Year 11 students in the accelerated learning program are as follows:

Option 1 Mathematics Applications Unit 3 & 4
Option 2 Turkish Unit 3 & 4



The SCSA has begun implementing a new standard for students who wish to continue onto Year 11 or 12. Students who plan to continue post-Year 10 must demonstrate a minimum level of literacy and numeracy in NAPLAN (National Assessment Program – Literacy and Numeracy). Students who fail to do so do not receive a certificate for WACE from the SCSA.

For students who fail to demonstrate the minimum, the SCSA has initiated OLNA (Online Literacy and Numeracy Assessment). The OLNA offers students an opportunity to demonstrate the minimum level in numeracy and literacy via an online assessment. The OLNA is offered a total of 4 times throughout Year 11 and 12. Students who fail to demonstrate the minimum level in NAPLAN but do well in OLNA can still receive a WACE certificate.


For more information on any of the above, feel free to contact our WACE coordinator, Omer Demirbas via email: odemirbas@fountain.wa.edu.au